Luke Skywalker Can't Read: And Other Geeky Truths

Couverture
Penguin, 24 nov. 2015 - 224 pages
5 Avis
The perfect gift for anyone who embraces the joy of fandom and geeking out, this collection of essays celebrates the fans of Star Wars, Star Trek, Doctor Who, Sherlock Holmes, Lord of the Rings, and much more.

Pop Culture and sci-fi guru Ryan Britt has never met a monster, alien, wizard, or superhero that didn’t need further analysis.

Essayist Ryan Britt got a sex education from dirty pictures of dinosaurs, made out with Jar-Jar Binks at midnight, and figured out how to kick depression with a Doctor Who Netflix-binge. Alternating between personal anecdote, hilarious insight, and smart analysis, Luke Skywalker Can’t Read contends that Barbarella is good for you, that monster movies are just romantic comedies with commitment issues, that Dracula and Sherlock Holmes are total hipsters, and, most shockingly, shows how virtually everyone in the Star Wars universe is functionally illiterate.
 
Romp through time and space, from the circus sideshows of 100 years ago to the Comic Cons of today, from darkest corners of the Galaxy to the comfort of your couch. For anyone who pretended their flashlight was a lightsaber, stood in line for a movie at midnight, or dreamed they were abducted by aliens, Luke Skywalker Can't Read is full of answers to questions you haven't thought to ask, and perfect for readers of Chuck Klosterman, Rob Sheffield, and Ernest Cline. 

“Ryan Britt is . . . the Virgil you want to guide you through the inferno of geekery.” —Lev Grossman, author of the bestselling Magician's trilogy 

 

Avis des internautes - Rédiger un commentaire

Avis des utilisateurs

5 étoiles
1
4 étoiles
3
3 étoiles
1
2 étoiles
0
1 étoile
0

LibraryThing Review

Avis d'utilisateur  - setnahkt - LibraryThing

Author Ryan Britt is a blogger and blog contributor; most of these essays were originally posted online at various science fiction sites. The title essay – the fourth in the book – comments on the ... Consulter l'avis complet

LibraryThing Review

Avis d'utilisateur  - MickyFine - LibraryThing

A delightful collection of smart, geeky, and funny essays on various sci fi and fantasy movies, shows, and books. Filled with humour and some particularly intriguing insights (the title essay is a ... Consulter l'avis complet

Pages sélectionnées

Table des matières

About the Author
Luke Skywalker Cant Read
The Sounds of Science Fiction
Imagine Theres No Frodo I Wonder If You Can
Hipster Robots Will Save Us
Acknowledgments
Droits d'auteur

Autres éditions - Tout afficher

Expressions et termes fréquents

À propos de l'auteur (2015)

Ryan Britt has written for The New York Times, Electric Literature, The Awl, VICE Motherboard, Clarkesworld Magazine, and is a consulting editor for Story Magazine. He was the staff writer for the Hugo-Award winning web magazine Tor.com, where he remains a contributor. He lives in New York City.


From the Trade Paperback edition.

Informations bibliographiques