3 Screenplays

Grove Press, 1993 - 363 pages
0 Avis
The recent success of Freedomland and Clockers has established Richard Price as one of America's most accomplished novelists. Critics have praised both his uncanny ear for the cadences and pitch of dialogue and his insight into the deeper recesses of the American soul. Perhaps more than any novelist today, Price has captured the undercurrents of our culture and society. Bringing these talents to the art of screenplays, Price has also emerged as one of the foremost talents in screenwriting. Now, with this collection of his three best-known screenplays, readers can see for themselves why many movie critics have come to consider Richard Price today's most preeminent screenwriter. Introduced with a revealing interview of Price by the critic Neal Gabler, this volume includes Price's screenplays for The Color of Money (1986), which starred Paul Newman and Tom Cruise and won an Academy Award nomination for best screenplay; Sea of Love (1989), which starred Al Pacino and Ellen Barkin and became a major critical and commercial success; and Night and the City (1992), which starred Robert De Niro and Jessica Lange and again attracted rave reviews for Price's screenwriting.

Avis des internautes - Rédiger un commentaire

Aucun commentaire n'a été trouvé aux emplacements habituels.

Pages sélectionnées

Table des matières

A Special Angle of Vision
The Color of Money
Sea of Love
Night and the City
Droits d'auteur

Expressions et termes fréquents

À propos de l'auteur (1993)

Author and screenwriter Richard Price was born in the Bronx, New York on October 12, 1949. He received a BS degree from Cornell University, an MFA from Columbia University, and a Mirillees Fellowship in fiction at Stanford University. His first novel, The Wanderers, was published in 1974 and was adapted into a film by director Philip Kaufman in 1979. His novel Clockers was nominated for the National Book Critics Circle Award and was made into a movie by Spike Lee in 1994. His screenwriting credits include The Color of Money (1986), Sea of Love (1989), Mad Dog and Glory (1992), and Ransom (1996). Price won several awards for his writing on the television series The Wire. He has written for numerous publications including The New York Times, Esquire Magazine, the Village Voice, and Rolling Stone. In 1999, he received the American Academy of Arts and Letters Award in Literature. In 2015, Price published his bestselling novel, The Whites, under the pseudonym Harry Brandt.

Informations bibliographiques